Snippets of Our New Home | Photo Diary

As I predicted, moving out of one place and moving in with someone else in another has presented a set of challenges that is completely foreign to me.  Even though Jeff’s laid-back attitude is the perfect complement to my Type-A personality, we still have to work at finding balance in our new roles as homeowners.

I was met with my first challenge while unpacking both mine and Jeff’s things.  I wanted our home to be a cohesive mixture of our own individual styles and personalities, which meant incorporating Jeff’s vast collection of Guinness pubware into my décor.  Luckily for me, though, before now I never really had a style.  By combining our collectibles and other items, I was able to create a style that is completely unique to our house.  And by doing so, I’ve managed to create a home for the both of us- a place that is welcoming and cozy and ours.

While it was overwhelming at first, I’m quite proud of what I’ve done.  We still have much to do, and perhaps we’ll never be done designing and changing things.  But for now, we have a beautiful little home that showcases who we are and, as promised, I’d like to share some photos of the progress we’ve made here.

Like I showed in my Movin’ Out post, the house was not finished when we decided to put an offer in.  The transformation is gorgeous and we couldn’t feel more blessed to call this place our home.


 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI am so proud of the blue cabinet that I, myself, assembled.  It took me a couple hours but hard work pays off!  This accent piece (bought at Target, of course) not only gives us ample storage for our many DVDs, but it complements the blue décor I’ve chosen for the living room.  Jeff’s Dubliner Pub sign even has some blue-ish, teal tones that tie in with the theme nicely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAhh… The kitchen.  I think it’s my favorite room in the house.  The beautiful cabinets and tile make it a place I really want to be in.  We’re still on the hunt for a dining room table so we’ve been eating off of a pop-up table and mismatched chairs- an eclectic theme, if you will.  Jeff had this metal motorcycle silhouette which looks awesome in the tiny entryway near the back door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOur contractor told us that when he bought the house, there was a window in the middle of the shower.  He thoughtfully removed that eyesore (not necessarily referring to the window, but instead to the potential of someone seeing me showering) and gave us a beautiful skylight.  It makes the room feel so much bigger and provides that gorgeous natural light.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd finally, our beautiful backyard, captured here in the middle of our first snow storm of the year.


 

Like I said, we still have much to do: hanging pictures, collecting more furniture; and Jeff has a lengthy plan for our yard come springtime.  But we’ve put a lot of love into what we have here, and that’s enough for us.

One thought on “Snippets of Our New Home | Photo Diary

Leave a Reply

